Welcome to Germany's centre of competence for administrative sciences in Speyer

The German University of Administrative Sciences Speyer offers the most excellent conditions and infrastructural facilities for postgraduate studies, research and continuing education in the context of Public Administration.
Thanks to a small average number of some 400 students per semester a close contact with lecturers can be established and students can be given our staff's best attention. Moreover, subject matters can be imparted to postgraduates in a much more effective way than to someone who has just entered higher qualification.
We invite you to have a look around and find out what studying in Speyer is about. No matter where you come from, you can be sure of a warm welcome at Speyer University.

History, Organization and Activities of the German University of Administrative Sciences Speyer

The university was founded in 1947 by the French occupation authorities as a state academy for administrative sciences. In 1950, a law, passed by the government of Rhineland-Palatinate, reaffirmed its status as an institution of public law with legal capacity. As a result of a special agreement in 1952, the national and the states' (Länder) governments assumed joint responsibility for the university. After the German Unification, also the 'new' states (Länder) Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia acceded to this agreement.
In December 1997, the university adopted its current name of "German University of Administrative Sciences Speyer".
The work of the university covers three broad activities in the field of administrative sciences: postgraduate education, in-service training and research. This includes the training of future senior civil servants (one-term course or Master's Programmes), in-service training for senior civil servants, and research into the legal, economic and social problems of international, national and local administration. The university is authorized to award doctorates and confer eligibility for professorships. It is a member of the "German Rector's Conference", the organization of universities and similar educational and research institutions in the Federal Republic of Germany.
There are 18 professorial chairs presiding over Public Law, Administrative Sciences, and Economics, as well as Modern and Contemporary History, Sociology and Political Science. In addition, senior civil servants, judges and business executives holding part-time lectureships teach applied administration. This close association between the theoretical science of administration and its practical application has not only proven to be extremely useful for teaching, but has also provided the impetus for numerous recent research projects.




Prof. Dr. Holger Mühlenkamp
Rektor der Universität

E-Mail: rektor@uni-speyer.de